Nutty Apple Crisp

I’m not that big of an oatmeal fan. I mean, I like it, but the prepackaged stuff doesn’t exactly make me feel healthy. Overnight oats? Such a weird texture. I can’t get over it enough to like them. More often than not, I use oatmeal as an ingredient in my baking. (See: Quinoa Bars and Banana Bread.)

So when I was approached my My Oatmeal to review their product, I got overly excited. Creating a custom blend of healthy oatmeal would be perfect for the morning! I selected the signature smash blend oats in Oatmeal Cookie flavor (I know, right?) and added blueberries, cranberries, dark raisins, walnuts and pecans to the mix. The company recommended adding some brown cane sugar, so I complied. But before trying it as breakfast, I had an idea for a recipe!

nutty apple crisp

Nutty Apple Crisp

Ingredients
2 1/2 Granny Smith apples, sliced into bite-size pieces
1 cup healthy oatmeal blend (including walnuts & pecans)
1/8c. brown sugar (optional)
2 tbsp. margarine, softened

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. Place apple pieces in a 9×9 pan coated with cooking spray.

3. Add oatmeal blend over top of apples. Sprinkle brown sugar for added sweetness.

4. Slice margarine into small slivers and distribute throughout mixture.

5. Bake for 30 minutes.

6. Let cool and serve with ice cream (or yogurt in the morning!)

**If you want to use regular oatmeal, add desired nuts/dried fruit into a small bowl with 1 c oatmeal, adding dashes of cinnamon & nutmeg prior to placing over apples. **

It was so nice to just pour and go instead of measuring out all the ingredients. There’s also the added bonus of extra fruit! The sugar content of the oatmeal seemed a bit high for me, but that was my own fault. Selecting a different flavor or carefully selecting the dried fruit you add would most likely reduce this.

MyOatmeal

Disclaimer: I was provided 1 lb. of customized oatmeal from MyOatmeal.com as part of a campaign run by Fit Approach as a Sweat Pink Ambassador. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Like this recipe? Check out others on my Recipes page!

Leave a Reply

