No Bake Berry Butterscotch Protein Clusters

Even with giving up chocolate for Lent, my sweet tooth has been out of control. My go-to mix is butterscotch chips and walnuts with Craisins occasionally throw in. Satisfies the beast and serves as a great protein boost at the same time.

berry butterscotch mix

I got to thinking and wondered if I could somehow incorporate quinoa in for an extra protein punch, which led me to wonder if I could do a no bake version of my chewy quinoa bars. I found a no bake energy ball recipe on Gimme Some Oven and just winged things from there. While I was disappointed when my creation didn’t ‘ball up’ perfectly, I think the clusters work just fine. (Truth: I ate five between creating them last night and 8 a.m. this morning.)

I didn’t incorporate quinoa into this round, but am hoping to do a white chocolate quinoa version post-Lent. In the meantime, these are still sweet, chewy and delicious.

no bake protein clusters title

No Bake Berry Butterscotch Protein Clusters

Makes 20-25 clusters

Ingredients
1 c. oats
1/2 c. chopped walnuts
1/2 c. Craisins
1/4 c.  butterscotch chips
1/4 c. honey
1/4 c. peanut butter
1/4 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. chia seeds

Directions

1. Pour everything into a medium size bowl. Mix well.

2. Drop mixture by rounded teaspoon on to a wax papered baking sheet.

3. Refrigerate for 1 hour or overnight until clusters can be picked up whole.

4. Store in an airtight container.

What’s your go-to snack when your sweet tooth strikes?

Like this recipe? Check out others on my Recipes page!

strange but good

3 thoughts on “No Bake Berry Butterscotch Protein Clusters

  1. Pingback: Five Things I’m Loving Friday | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

