Can’t Hold Me Down

As I mentioned on Friday, the weekend forecast looked like this:

weekend weather 3-28

From the way the forecasters were speaking, the rain would be coming down steady and hard for the majority of the weekend. I had 9 miles scheduled and was getting increasingly anxious as we went through the day on Friday. Once 4p rolled around, there was no rain and temps were hovering around 60F. The JA was leaving later in the evening, but encouraged me to go out while things were dry. I waffled back and forth (of course I wanted to spend time with him before he departed), but eventually made the decision to go for it. What’s the worst that could happen?

long run 3-28

I was surprised at how ‘easy’ it was. (I put easy in quotes because nine miles is not what I think of as an easy distance.) The weather held, a lot of people were outside, and I kept my pace in check. I felt tired after finishing, but with a bit more motivation, it certainly was another confidence boost on the way to my first half marathon!

With my long run out of the way and the rain falling down, Watson and I had a lazy morning on Saturday. Reading, cuddliness, and drinking coffee were just what the doctor ordered to counter the dreariness of the weather outside.

lazy morning

I then met up with my mom. We went to lunch and ran some errands. I was determined to usher spring in with style whether Mother Nature wanted to cooperate or not!

apple salad

Sunday was a busy day. I had a work event in the morning and since I was already on campus, I took advantage of the fitness center and busted through my cross training. 50 minutes on the elliptical went quickly thanks to the iHeartRadio spin cycle station and helped me exceed my goal of 100 miles for March. 105 for the win!

Later that afternoon, it began to snow. Yes, snow. The JA returned safely but we were both exhausted by the end of the night. It would have been nice to have a bit of time to sleep in, but we’re just happy the weather has taken a turn for the better!

How do you make the best of a less than ideal situation?

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

 

Leave a Reply

