Treats Not Tricks

It’s April Fools Day and I have a few confessions to make to you. First, I dislike this ‘holiday.’ I’m not a prankster and just don’t get it. You never know how someone else’s day is going and pulling a prank on them could tip them over the proverbial edge. Be careful out there today, jokesters!

Second confession: yesterday was the first day in my training cycle that I decided to skip a workout without a valid reason. In the past few weeks, I’ve bailed because of snow and sickness. Yesterday, I simply didn’t want to stretch & strengthen. My heated yoga class was cancelled by the instructor, it was gorgeous outside, and it was Opening Day for the Orioles.

Instead of exercising, the JA and I ended up going out to dinner. We ended up driving a bit to chow down at one of our favorite spots when we were living in our townhouse – T Bonz Bar & Grille. Not only do they have a great beer selection, but they are also the place that first served us crabby tots (tater tots covered in crab dip, Old Bay, and cheese). We settled in for the second half of the game and were happy to cheer the O’s on to a win!

crabby tots

We rolled ourselves home to fulfill our puppy parent duties and decided to continue the fun with dessert and a Scandal. We started watching the series on Saint Patrick’s Day and are completely hooked. It’s actually taken over for Breaking Bad, which we have yet to finish. (Anyone else not impressed? We’re just not that into it.)

That was that. No workout. No feeling guilt about not working out. I took advantage of the day and I’m not sorry one bit. (I’m saying this prior to my scheduled run for the day. Check in with me tonight and see how I feel!)

Look at all those Xs!

Look at all those Xs!

Speaking of treating yourself, if you follow me on Instagram, you may have noticed I’m on a lipstick kick. Now, I’m not really a lipstick person – it rubs off on everything, it’s got a waxy feel and smell, and I’ve just never been a fan. I’m much more of a lip stain person, as evidenced by my collection of three different Revlon Just Bitten Lipstains. I really like that they’ve got a bit of a peppermint kick, provide long-lasting color, and keep my lips moisturized. (For a full review, click here.)

But when offered the chance to try a new beauty product for free, I couldn’t refuse. I  was sent Rimmel London’s Moisture Renew lipstick in As You Want Victoria as part of a campaign through Influenster.

I mentioned last week that it was one of my Five Things I’m Loving so it should come as no surprise that I wore it multiple times throughout the past few weekends. I wore it most of weekend: Friday at work (and on my run), and Sunday for a work event (and then again at the gym). I think I’m a convert. From the minute I put it on my lips, I was surprised at how smooth it was. The color’s a bit bold, but didn’t transfer onto my glassware too much and lasted through eating, drinking, running and ellipticall-ing. I may just be converted!

lipstick and pearls

This is part of my Try It Tuesday series. I review a variety of products/services and use this series to recommend the best to you! I did receive the product for free, but all opinions are my own 🙂

 

Treat-Yourself-Tuesday-Badge

5 thoughts on “Treats Not Tricks

  1. I want to be a lipstick person so badly, but I end up feeling so self-conscious when I wear it. I got the lipstick from Influenster too, but it was just too bright for my liking.. on me. I LOVE bright lipstick on other people.. and yours looks fab!

  2. I’m not good at “trying” things 🙂 … I’m not much of a lipstick person either. Very neutral colors for me. So not a fan of April Fools pranks either, luckily no one in my immediate family is, so we haven’t had to deal with anything here today!

Leave a Reply

