Push It

This weekend was another filled to the brim weekend. Both the JA and I had work obligations on Sunday, leaving us with Friday and Saturday to truly relax.

Well, let me tell you, an inaugural 11-mile solo run is not relaxing. Is it just me, or do you have to talk yourself up before running a distance you’ve never conquered before? I woke up Saturday morning to great weather, made my way out of bed, and then proceeded to putz around until I got enough courage to get it done.

If you follow me on Instagram, you know that it was a rough run. In addition to the anxiety of the sheer distance of this run, I’ve been having trouble with my right foot. While it was fine for most of the run, my head and heart just weren’t in it. However, the scenery provided inspiration and I used this run as a time to strengthen my mental stamina. It worked to a certain extent — I ended up breaking down when I got home. I was sore, I was tired, I was in a level of discomfort that’s uncharted territory for me post-run. I’m so thankful for the JA and his unwavering support. He reminded me that it was my first 11-mile run, that it was on a trail, and that there should be some level of discomfort because, well, I’m pushing myself. I don’t know how I’d be faring on the journey to my first half marathon without his support.

11mi training run

Sunday morning, it was my turn to be supportive. The JA ran his first race of the season! He decided on the HopeWell Cancer Support REACHOUT AND RUN 5K because the organization was so important to our late school President during his battle with prostate cancer. I’ll admit that I may have bullied him a bit to register for the race and as we arrived at the race site, he started to (jokingly) make excuses as to why he couldn’t run. He was dealing with some pre-race jitters that were quickly quelled once he started to warm up. Some current students were running the race and the JA made a goal to beat twice the time of our fastest runner. Well, our fastest runner came in 1st place overall, so he had quite the challenge ahead of him.

He made it through just fine – beating his goal and earning 12th place in his age group with a time of 31.47.5! Not a PR, but it was a hilly course, a chilly day, and his first race of the year after suspending running for the winter. Ultimately, he was glad he participated and thanked me for pushing him to do so. I’m so proud of him for getting back on the proverbial horse and am taking suggestions for his next race….

JA HopeWell finish

As I mentioned,  we ended the weekend at work. He’s in the midst of preparations for the AP test and I volunteered at an event. We were both exhausted upon returning home and getting up this morning was no easy feat, either. I need a day to recover from my weekend!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

Linking up with Katie at Healthy Diva Life for Marvelous in My Monday!

2 thoughts on “Push It

  1. Isn’t it awesome to have an amazing man for support?! Congratulations to the both of you for conquering your runs over the weekend. Keep your head up high about the run. Try going into your next LR w/ a positive attitude. I bet things will go different.

Leave a Reply

