Torn

Hey y’all, I don’t have a workout for you today. If that’s what you were expecting, I encourage you to head on over to my Workouts page and find one you haven’t completed yet. Or just do one of your faves over again. I’ll hopefully be back with a workout next week 🙂

I’ve reached a point in my training when I’m done. Spent. Thinking about running elicits a sigh. I’m tired of getting up early to run. I’m tired of planning my day on when I can squeeze in 3 or 5 miles, cross training and long runs. There are so many new things I want to try, but feel like I can’t because I don’t wan to injure myself or be too sore to complete my runs.

Note: You may see that I altered this plan from the original. Will go into further detail in another post.

Note:  Yellow blocks are completed workouts. You may see that I’ve altered this plan from the original. Will go into further detail in another post.

In addition, and I’ve mentioned this lightly, my right foot is being weird. From time to time, the muscles at the base of my arch (near the heel) feel like they are slowly shredding. (Think of when you have a handful of spaghetti & try to break it with both hands – that splintering? It’s the best analogy I have.) It doesn’t hurt when I run, it doesn’t hurt after I run. It doesn’t hurt in the morning. It doesn’t really hurt at all. It just feels….not right. So I’ve been taping it every day, supporting it with compression socks, and continuing on with my journey.

so sexy, right?

so sexy, right?

I’m less than a month away, I can do this. Yesterday, I had a really invigorating, pace-be-damned, misty spring morning run. It was glorious. It reminded me that while I have a time goal for this race that I should just be happy with finishing. (Finishing strong AND under my time goal would be ideal.) I just need to hang in for these last three weeks, trust my training, listen to my body, and know it will all be worth it in the end.

Right?

19 thoughts on “Torn

  1. Totally normal. I always go through the burn out shortly before the race. There’s only a little bit left — take it one day at a time and do what you can. And be careful with that arch! Sounds like the beginnings of plantar fasciitis.

    • That’s what I’m worried about! I really don’t want it to be PF. Pretending like it is and resting, icing, stretching, but also continuing to run. It’s such a weird situation, and I’m just hoping it behaves until after the big race!

  2. Eh I know the burned out feeling but it’s probably why I didn’t stick to my half marathon training plan for the spring. Oops. I would say stick to 3 runs a week and keep with crosstraining as a substitution for some shorter run days. You pretty much have done most of the work. In an ideal training plan I usually include a weekend long run, a shorter run a bit faster for speedwork, and a mid-distance tempo run. Go to barre only and stretch instead of doing that plus a 5 mile run a few days. Plans that have you running everyday are not good, in my opinion. Being sore and possibly injured is nothing to mess around with! Chin up!

    • Haha. But you know what you can and can’t get away with doing. I’m completely new to this and (not gonna lie) am still a bit nervous/wary of this ‘running 13.1 miles for fun’ thing. Thanks for the advice and support. I’ll definitely keep everything you said in mind!

  3. I definitely know that burnt out feeling very well. But the good news is that it will be replaced with so much joy and sense of accomplishment when you cross that finish line. You’re so close! And, in another week you can start to taper, so that should help with the burn out. Good luck with the tail end of training. Can’t wait to hear all about how much you kick this race’s butt!

    • That’s what I keep telling myself….I’m so close! I’m ready for the taper and even more ready for that feeling of elation and accomplishment come race day. Thanks for the support!

  4. Sounds like plantar fasciitis! Stretch out and roll those calves, ice your foot and roll it out entire bottom of your foot. And it sounds like you need a major break from the strict schedule. You’ve got a lot of workouts going on along with the running.

    • My plan is adapted from Hal Higdon’s Novice I workout. I have been pushing myself to go a few extra miles on top of what’s set, so that’s where I’m thinking that this problem arose. I’m going to reevaluate depending on how my race goes this weekend. Might be something serious, but might be that I need a heel insert or to stretch/foam roll better!

  5. It sounds like your body is telling you that it’s time for a break. Think about taking a few runs off your schedule or doing them at a very easy pace. It looks like this is down week for you and it’s ok to really back off of things if you need to so that you can be ready for your long run next weekend. Good luck!

    • Andrea, thanks so much. This is just what I needed to hear. I’m looking at my schedule and may just pare things down a bit to be 100% on race day. I’ll be sure to keep the blog updated as I keep moving ahead!

  6. Taking a break from running and doing some cross training won’t erase what you’ve accomplished so far, so don’t overdo it! Listen to your body first and foremost! You want to feel good on the day of the race…make that a priority! You’re a fitness inspiration.

  7. Pingback: Three Things Thursday | Just Call Me Janks

  8. Pingback: Productivity, Porch Sittin’, and Another PR | Just Call Me Janks

  9. Pingback: Resting Up But Feeling Down | Just Call Me Janks

  10. Pingback: Mission: Accomplished | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

