Hold On Tight!

It snowed here in Baltimore last night. Yes, snow. In April. Girlfriend is not happy. Where is the weather from the weekend?! Bring back my spring temperatures!

snow 4-15

Even though it was cold and rainy last night and I would have much rather stayed inside, I offered to sub Barre Fusion class. I’ve been taking things really easy since my race on Saturday, and it felt good to get back to a booty-busting workout. Having a ballet barre installed at the gym has given me the change to experiment with different exercises. Yesterday we did an ab sequence using the barre and, let me tell you, it provided a whole different level of burn!

If you don’t have access to a ballet barre, this workout can be done by holding on to anything over your head – the edge of a bed, the back of a couch, a kitchen counter or dining room table are some ideas. Make sure that you have enough space that you’re leaning back enough to thoroughly engage those abs!

hold on tight

Notes:
Make sure to protect your back – lean back on to the bony part of your glute and feel the engagement in your abs before you start this routine.

The hover part of the last exercise is for your non-working leg. I like to alternate the lift between legs and keep the lower leg hovering above the ground. You can easily modify this by doing the move with only one leg and keeping the other leg on the ground.

As always, let me know if you try it out and if you like it!

Like this routine? Check out others on my Workouts page!

Disclaimer: I am not a certified fitness professional, just a gal who likes to create and vary her exercise routines. If any of these moves hurt (in a bad way), stop and consult a professional.

3 thoughts on “Hold On Tight!

Leave a Reply

