Resting Up But Feeling Down

So, Spring Break got the best of me. While I’ve been working shorter hours, we’ve also been completing some projects around the house, enjoying some extra time as a family, and allowing ourselves the opportunity to relax a little bit.

Additionally, I’ve got a little over a week left in my half marathon training (EEK!) and can feel the excitement of the challenge building in my mind as I continue my two-week taper. My 11-mile run last Sunday was less than ideal and my left hamstring felt uncomfortable on my 5-mile run yesterday, so depending on both my physical and mental state, I may need to adjust my goals for the race. It stinks because as recently as three weeks ago, I was confident I had my ‘A’ goal within reach (and it still very well may be). Yet, between my foot issue (which seems to have resolved itself), this tight/possibly torn hamstring, and a mind that’s a bit defeated thinking that I didn’t finish my 13.1 mile ‘test run’, I need to remind myself that a ‘C’ goal is still a goal and I shouldn’t be disappointed if that’s the one I attain. A lot of people have told me that if I can run 11, I can run 13.1 but I would feel more confident had I done it (and done it well) prior to race day. The JA keeps telling me that just finishing is an accomplishment and that should be my first goal, with time and performance as secondary goals. I am reminding myself that any time is a PR. A big confidence boost before next weekend would be great but even if it doesn’t happen, I know I’ve trained well and can (and WILL) cross that finish line.

But enough about that. It’s Friday, so let’s end the week with a photo recap of the past two days!

For our co-workers birthday, my ‘work husband’ and I made a trip to Fells Point to pick up some treats. We couldn’t resist getting a scoop full of gelato for ourselves to brighten up an otherwise dreary day.

pitango

These bad boys arrived at my doorstep this week. I’ve already tried two flavors and have a few more to go. A full review will be coming soon so stay tuned!

vega bars

Flavored sparkling water has been my jam recently. On days it’s difficult for me to chug my regular tap water, I mix things up with some flavor and sparkle. I mean, why not?

sparkling water

And we obviously couldn’t end this post without a picture of Watson. The other night, he entered our room and plopped himself down near the side of my bed and didn’t move until I was settled. Too cute.

guard dog

How do you relax before a big event? Ever adjust your goals and then completely surprise yourself in achieving them?

Leave a Reply

