Not Your Average Protein Bar

I’m always excited to receive mail, but last week a package arrived that I immediately busted open.

vega bars

The Vega Bar team was kind enough to send eight of their plant-based, gluten-free, non GMO protein bars. Sweet! Here’s the breakdown of my loot:

Vega One Meal Bars in Chocolate Cherry Almond and Chocolate Peanut Butter

Vega Snack Bars in Dark Chocolate Mixed Nuts & Sea Salt and Cranberry Almond

Vega Sport Protein Bars in Chocolate Coconut and Chocolate Mint

Vega Sport Energy Bars in Cherry Almond and Chocolate Coconut Almond

Let’s start with the Sports bars. I tried the Cherry Almond flavor for some pre-run fuel and was initially surprised by the texture. It was chewy and moist, but not sticky like some bars. The non-artificial flavoring was good, but I preferred the Chocolate Coconut Almond. That one? So good. I ate a whole bar before my run yesterday and I definitely feel that it helped me get my running mojo back. I felt full but not stuffed, and knowing that I’m putting clean fuel in my body makes it easier to concentrate on my workout.

Vega Sport Energy Bar

Later in the week, I used a Meal bars as snacks. What can I say? I’m a hungry gal. I love the fact that the wrapper has all these cool stats in easy to digest form (Hahah, get it? So punny.) While it wouldn’t suffice for an actual meal replacement for me, both the Chocolate Cherry Almond and the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavors were spot on. It was a bit weird seeing a chocolate pb bar without either discernible peanuts or that light brown coloring inside. I quickly got over it and scarfed the whole thing down 🙂

vega choc pb

As for the Snack bars? They’re delicious, too. I would have more in-depth notes on these flavors, but I tend to wait until the last minute when I’m snacking on the go or in the office. I can tell you that these bars are easily portable – I carried them around in multiple purses and are probably strong enough to sustain a tour or two in a stuffed gym bag.

Look at all those berries!

Look at all those berries!

I haven’t used the Vega Sport Energy Recovery bars yet, as I’m saving them for after my half marathon on Sunday. If they are anything like the other bars I’ve tried, I know that they’ll be tasty and effective. They’ll help my body recover in a natural way through the use of whole grain brown rice and pea protein. I can’t wait to try them out!

Vega Sport Bar

All in all, I’d highly recommend the Vega bar product line. The packaging is informative and interesting and you can’t complain about the flavoring and quality of the products!

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary shipment of Vega bars as a Sweat Pink Ambassador. All thoughts and opinions of the product are my own.

Badge_Vega200

 

This post is part of my Try It Tuesday series. I review a variety of products/services and use this series to recommend only the best to you. Enjoy 🙂

3 thoughts on “Not Your Average Protein Bar

  1. Pingback: Fueling Better | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

