What’s Next?

Since crossing the finish line on Sunday, I’ve been taking it easy exercise-wise. My knee is still tweaked a bit and May marks the beginning of graduation activities at work – meaning both the JA and I are busier than usual. But with this small break, my mind keeps wondering…what’s next?

I took so much time in preparing for the half marathon that I’m almost in a state of denial that it’s over. I wake up and am able to snooze because I don’t HAVE to run. I can if I want, but I’m not in training anymore. It’s a weird feeling.

A few people have asked me what my next race/challenge will be. There are plenty of opportunities this spring, summer, and fall to retrain and complete another half. I just don’t know if I’m ready to commit to that yet. There’s also a 10-miler and a 12-miler here in the Baltimore area, but again, I kind of like being able to run at my leisure. My last run pre-half marathon was a 4-mile run in the rain. I didn’t take my watch, put in some tunes, and let the rain hit my face. It was glorious and exactly what I needed to get my running mojo back. I don’t want to lose it so soon by jumping into training again.

I’ve also been toying around with the idea of volunteering at races instead of running them. I think it would give me a different perspective on what goes into organizing a race while still allowing me to be a part of the experience.

In short, I don’t know what’s next for me. I’m really excited to get back to the barre and give it my all again – not worrying about how it’s going to affect my running. I’m excited to run and remember why I love it so much. I’m ready to relax this summer, but still keep active and interested in the things that I’ve come to appreciate so much in my life.

click image for source

click image for source

How do you deal with post-race letdown? Take it easy? Immediately sign up for another race?

4 thoughts on “What’s Next?

  1. I love the time after a race when I’m able to run just because I want to and not because I know I should. I’ve also been thinking about finding a race to volunteer at. After all of the races I’ve done I feel like I definitely need to do my part.

  2. Pingback: Losing Steam | Just Call Me Janks

Leave a Reply

