Losing Steam

Ever have those days when it seems like time is moving so quickly and then you get into work and the day drags on? That’s what my life feels like as of late. It’s so nice outside and there are so many graduation-related activities happening that our ‘down’ time anything but relaxing.

Watson, however, has nothing but time.

Watson, on the other hand, has nothing but time.

With all that’s happening, I’ve definitely lost my workout mojo. I went to barre last week and ran on Sunday, but that’s about it. The humidity is already kicking in here in Baltimore. I’d wake up and work out, but I’d rather snooze. These are lame excuses, but they are swirling in my head. The JA’s been doing wonderfully with continuing his routine – working out a few times a week, sometimes twice a day. But for me, that time is over. Training is done and I’m happy with my race performance. I’m hoping that when Watson’s ‘cage rest’ is finished at the end of the month, that getting back into our morning and afternoon walk routine will light a spark and get me back in the game, but what until then?

lack-of-motivation

I trained for so long for the half marathon that now it’s over, I feel a bit lost. While I don’t want to jump into training anytime again soon, I also don’t want to lose all my dedication and tenacity (not to mention my muscle definition and sense of accomplishment).

HELP! What do you do when you’ve lost motivation?

4 thoughts on “Losing Steam

  1. I blogged about this post marathon, how sometimes you just don’t know what to do. I definitely think it’s important to take some rest time after training and just get a break from a training plan and do what you feel like doing!

  2. i think you should definitely rest for a bit, but then maybe sign up for a 5k or something. that way, you don’t have to get in to training mode again (i know that’s a LOT of commitment), but it gives you something to look forward to and stay in shape for.

  3. I would suggest a break, but not a long one. Maybe just the change in weather is putting a damper on the mojo.
    Secondly, I nominated you for a LIEBSTER award! See my latest blog post for details ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

