Kickoff to Summer

Remember how I was hoping to get my blogging mojo back? Well, I was all set to wake up yesterday and pump out a post for y’all but I woke up at 4a with a stomach bug. Writing a post while laying in bed with a mild fever was not a task I was able to complete.

But have no fear… today I’m back in action. I had a good day at work, rocked barre class this evening, and got to sneak a peek back at my pictures from the weekend. Oh, how glorious it was.

Friday evening, we hung out with our neighbors for our bi-monthly game night. Nothing impressive.

Saturday we ran some errands and held an impromptu cookout. About 15 people showed up throughout the course of the evening and we all had a blast sitting on the deck, eating way too much food, and telling embarrassing stories. (Not about each other, of course.)

Sunday was family day. We packed a picnic lunch (made mainly of leftovers from the night prior) and headed to our favorite park. We allowed Watson to frolic in his favorite stream and we got to walk through the woods and enjoy the sunshine. Double win!

family pic 5-14

Another double win? Ice cream. There’s a small ice cream shop within walking distance of our house so the only logical thing to do on a nice evening is to take the dog there and get him a puppy kid’s cone. Good thing he knew better than to mess with my food after he finished his cone. It would not have ended well.

We spent the remainder of Sunday evening relaxing outside with another group of friends. All in all, a perfect kickoff to summer!

What signifies the beginning of summer to you? For me, it’s the onset of Baltimore humidity…and when I feel comfortable wearing shorts outside.

3 thoughts on “Kickoff to Summer

  1. Cook out and a campfire- that’s how I like to kick off summer. Some backyard fireworks for the kids is a nice touch too.
    Sounds like you had a great weekend!

  2. Our town has a Memorial Day parade that we take part in every year. That really kicks off the summer season in my mind! Also visits from the ice cream truck! I need to get my pup a cone next time for a treat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

